KNAC.COM News Reviews and More Watch The Latest Videos Buy KNAC T-shirts and More

STONE TEMPLE PILOTS Reveal Purple Super Deluxe Edition

By Larry Petro, News Monkey
Thursday, August 29, 2019 @ 2:13 PM

Set For Release October 18; Fall Tour With RIVAL SONS Kicks Off September 13

- advertisement -
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS have set a new release date of October 18 for PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION. Today the band released the second unreleased track from the collection, a live version of “Interstate Love Song” recorded 25 years ago today on August 23, 1994 at New Haven Veterans Memorial Coliseum. Listen HERE

“When I first wrote the song, it actually started out as a bossa nova piece,” STP songwriter and bassist, Robert DeLeo told Billboard. “I had been getting introduced to a lot of bossa nova and samba at the time like Joao Gilberto and Jorge Ben, and wrote it on a cheap $25 guitar.”

The PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION 3-CD/1-LP set includes a newly remastered version of the original studio album on both CD and vinyl, plus unreleased versions of album tracks and rarities, along with an unreleased full concert recording from 1994. On the same day, the music will be made available both digitally and as a 2-CD Deluxe Edition.

A limited edition bundle of the PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITON is now available to pre-order at www.stonetemplepilots.com which includes a bonus replica 7-inch vinyl single of “Interstate Love Song” that was originally released in the UK in 1994. This exclusive bundle is limited to 1,000 copies.

STONE TEMPLE PILOTSSTP will then play some select headline dates in CT and NY, before launching their co-headlining tour with RIVAL SONS, beginning September 13 in Baltimore. Please see full itinerary below.


3CD/1LP Track Listing

Disc One: Purple 2019 Remaster

  • “Meat Plow”
  • “Vasoline”
  • “Lounge Fly”
  • “Interstate Love Song”
  • “Still Remains”
  • “Pretty Penny”
  • “Silvergun Superman”
  • “Big Empty”
  • “Unglued”
  • “Army Ants”
  • “Kitchenware & Candybars”
Disc Two: Early Versions, Demos & Acoustic
  • “Meat Plow” – Early Version *
  • “Interstate Love Song” – Early Version *
  • “Big Empty” – Acoustic Version *
  • “Unglued” – Demo *
  • “Army Ants” – Demo *
  • “Kitchenware & Candybars” – Demo *
  • “Dancing Days”
  • “She Knows Me Too Well” – Demo *
  • “Interstate Love Song” – Acoustic Version *
Live At KROQ Acoustic Christmas 1994
  • “Pretty Penny” – Acoustic Version *
  • “Kitchenware & Candybars” – Acoustic Version *
  • “Christmastime Is Here” – Acoustic Version *
Disc Three: Live at New Haven Veterans Memorial Coliseum, New Haven, CT, August 23, 1994
  • “Vasoline” *
  • “Silvergun Superman” *
  • “Crackerman” *
  • “Lounge Fly” *
  • “Meat Plow” *
  • “Still Remains” *
  • “Gypsy Davy” *
  • “Pretty Penny” *
  • “Creep” *
  • “Andy Warhol” *
  • “Army Ants” *
  • “Big Empty” *
  • “Interstate Love Song” *
  • “Plush” *
  • “Unglued” *
  • “Dead & Bloated” *
  • “Sex Type Thing” *
* previously unreleased

Bonus “Interstate Love Song” 7-inch

Included with www.stonetemplepilots.com preorder, limited edition of 1,000 units

Side 1

  • “Interstate Love Song”
Side 2
  • “Lounge Fly”
  • 9.7 - Concord, VA @ Blue Ridge Rock Festival*
  • 9.8 - Mashantucket, CT @ Foxwoods Resort Casino*
  • 9.10 - Clifton Park, NY @ Upstate Concert Hall*
  • 9.11 - Niagara Falls, NY @ The Rapids Theatre*
  • 9.13 - Baltimore, MD @ MECU Pavilion
  • 9.14 - Ocean City, MD @ OC Bike Fest
  • 9.15 - Asbury Park, NJ @ Stone Pony Summer Stage
  • 9.17 - Norfolk, VA @ Chrysler Hall
  • 9.19 - Philadelphia, PA @ Philadelphia Metropolitan Opera House
  • 9.21 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
  • 9.22 - Brooklyn, NY @ Ford Amphitheater at Coney Island Boardwalk
  • 9.24 - Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theater & Ballroom
  • 9.25 - Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom
  • 9.27 - Sterling Heights, MI @ Michigan Lottery Amphitheatre at Freedom Hill
  • 9.28 - Louisville, KY @ Louder Than Life Festival*
  • 9.29 - New Orleans, LA @ The Fillmore New Orleans
  • 10.1 - Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center
  • 10.2 - San Antonio, TX @ Aztec Theatre*
  • 10.3 - Irving, TX @ The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
  • 10.5 - Albuquerque, NM @ Route 66 Casino Hotel*
  • 10.6 - Las Vegas, NV @ The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
  • 10.8 - Phoenix, AZ @ Comerica Theatre
  • 10.9 - San Diego, CA @ Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre at SDSU
  • 10.12 - Sacramento, CA @ Aftershock Festival*
* without RIVAL SONS

Back to Top



 Recent News
Official, Special, Limited Edition, KNAC Heritage Item On Sale Now!
THE MOUNTAIN MUSIC FESTIVAL Announces Band Lineup For 2024
BLACK TUSK Announce North American Tour
VOLA Ready New Album Friend Of A Phantom
MR. BIG Release New Video For "Up On You"
OCEANS OF SLUMBER Set To Release Where Gods Fear To Speak Album
ORANGE GOBLIN Share Third Single And New Video For "The Fire At The Centre Of The Earth Is Mine"
BLUE OYSTER CULT Reveals 50th Anniversary Live - Second Night Album
D-A-D Presents New Lyric Video For "The Ghost"
MICHAEL SCHENKER Unveils My Years With UFO Album
SAINT DIABLO Start A Riot With New Video "Dame Todo"
BAD NERVES Announce USA Headline Tour
THE BLACK MOODS Premiere New Video For "Sugar"
ENSIFERUM Return With New Album Winter Storm
GWAR Announces 'The Stoned Age' Tour
CROBOT Set To Release New Album Obsidian
MONSTERS OF ROCK CRUISE Confirms 2025 Band Lineup
SEPTICFLESH Announce Orchestra-Led Metal Concert Under The Acropolis Of Athens
ORDEN OGAN Release New Single, Video For "Conquest"
FLAT BLACK, Featuring Former FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH Guitarist JASON HOOK, Reveal Debut Album Details For Dark Side Of The Brain
INKARCERATION Music & Tattoo Festival Festival Announces Performance Times, Mobile App & Onsite Experiences
EXTREME Share New Video For "Beautiful Girls"
DEATHFEAST OPEN AIR Reveals Full 2024 Lineup
THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER Ready New Album Servitude
ALL THAT REMAINS Unleash "Let You Go" Video
MUSHROOMHEAD Return With New Album Call The Devil
CHARLOTTE WESSELS Unveils "Chasing Sunsets" Video
CREED's Human Clay Gets 25th Anniversary Remastered, Expanded Deluxe Edition
DEF LEPPARD Streams New Single "Just Like 73", Featuring TOM MORELLO
UFO Vocalist PHIL MOGG Returns With New Band MOGGS MOTEL
Synth-Metal Horror Masters DANCE WITH THE DEAD Announce North American Tour
ARMORED SAINT Share Rendition Of "One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)"
MIKE TRAMP Unveils New Album Songs Of White Lion - Vol. II
JINJER Announces 2024 North American Headline Tour
FOREIGNER, STYX Announce Tour Companion Album Renegades & Juke Box Heroes
JOHN 5 Releases New Song, Video "A Hollywood Story"
MAC SABBATH Confirm 10 Year Anniversary Tour
PATRIARCHS IN BLACK Stream New Song "Welcome to Hell Again"
SETH Return With New Album La France des Maudits
MYLES KENNEDY Set To Release Third Solo Album, The Art Of Letting Go
I PREVAIL, HALESTORM Collaborate On New Single, "Can U See Me In The Dark?"
PORTRIT Drop New Video For "From The Urn"
APOCALYPTICA Announces 2025 North American "Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2 Tour"
BAD MARILYN Stream New Single "We Will Rise"
BASTARDANE, OTTTO Announce 2024 'The Reconquest Tour'
TESTAMENT Ready Remastered Versions Of The Legacy And The New Order
SIMONE SIMONS Launches Video For Second Solo Single "In Love We Rust"
CARNIFEX Announce 'Necromanteum Part II' North American Tour
DESTRUCTION Surprise Releases New Single, Video "No Kings - No Masters"
SKID ROW Set For First Official Live Album, Concert Film Live In London
BABYLON A.D. Release New Album Title Track Video For ​"Rome Wasn't Built In A Day"
MORTIIS Announces North American Headlining Tour
OCEANO Unveil New Album Living Chaos
CATEGORY 7 Unleashes "Exhausted" Video, Single
JUDAS PRIEST Announces Leg 2 Of North American "Invincible Shield Tour"


©2024 KNAC.COM. All Rights Reserved.    Link to us    Advertise with us    Privacy policy
 Latest News